Ecodesign

»The future we want needs to be invented, otherwise we will get one we don't want.«

Joseph Beuys
credits: Graft Solarkiosk

The design process is a complex procedure that mediates between technical, aesthetic, economic, ecological and social contexts. Ecodesign focuses on ecological effectiveness without neglecting the other aspects. A good overview of ecodesign methods and tools can be found in the e-book What is ecodesign? published by the Federal Environment Agency.

credits: QWSTION

Any production, use and disposal of products inevitably involves the use of natural resources and thus environmental pollution. The question can therefore only be which products or which product design is associated with less environmental pollution. An important goal of ecodesign is to design products, services and systems in such a way that their negative impact on the environment is minimized in all phases of life.

An environmentally compatible design of products and services requires quantitative and qualitative assessment standards and supporting instruments. Today, a series of checklists, manuals and software solutions based on the methodological basis of life cycle assessment are available for this purpose. Ecodesign principles are also increasingly succeeding in being anchored in product standards.

Eco-Labels

Eco-labels act as a seal of quality and are aimed at consumers. Thus products or services are marked and statements can be made about the environmental friendliness of individual features. Meanwhile, there are a large number of eco-labels which can vary greatly in their informative value. A selection of reliable seals can be found here:

Eco-Labels

Ecological Guidelines

The Ecodesign Directive provides the legal framework for implementing Ecodesign at EU level. Regulations have already been issued for numerous product groups, the aim of which is to reduce the environmental impact of energy-related products, taking into account their entire life cycle. Information on the current status can be found here.

Guidelines

Ecodesign for Business

In many companies, ecological product design has often not yet become an inherent part of product development. The publication of the German Environment Agency identifies starting points for strengthening ecological design in companies.

Publication

Teaching and Learning

The Ecodesign Kit, developed on behalf of the German Environment Agency by the Hamburg Ökopol Institute in cooperation with the International Design Center Berlin, offers a collection of various teaching and learning materials for students.

Ecodesign Kit

Sustainability Guide

The Sustainability Guide, which is continually being expanded as part of the international EcoDesign Circle project, bundles information, methods and practical examples on the subject of circular design and circular economy.

Guide

From a consumer perspective

This paper explored the question of what consumers expect from sustainable products and services, and whether they are compatible with the scientifically based criteria of sustainable product design.

Publication

Environmental aspects of Ecodesign

In this short interview, Lisa Cerny, employee of the Federal Environment Agency, explains the standards of good design from an environmental point of view.

Interview

Ecodesign

»Die Zukunft, die wir wollen, muss erfunden werden. Sonst bekommen wir eine, die wir nicht wollen.«

Joseph Beuys
credits: Graft Solarkiosk

Der Designprozess ist ein komplexer Vorgang, der zwischen technischen, ästhetischen, ökonomischen, ökologischen und sozialen Zusammenhängen vermittelt. Beim Ecodesign steht die ökologische Wirksamkeit im Vordergrund, ohne jedoch die anderen Aspekte zu vernachlässigen. Einen guten Überblick über Ecodesign-Methoden und Werkzeuge bietet das eBook "Was ist Ecodesign?" des Umweltbundesamtes.

credits: QWSTION

Jegliche Herstellung, Nutzung und Entsorgung von Produkten geht unweigerlich mit einer Inanspruchnahme natürlicher Ressourcen und damit mit Umweltbelastungen einher. Die Frage kann somit nur lauten: Welche Produkte bzw. welche Produktgestaltung geht mit geringeren Umweltbelastungen einher? Ein wichtiges Ziel von Ecodesign ist es, Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Systeme so zu gestalten, dass ihre negativen Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt in allen Lebensphasen möglichst gering sind.

Eine umweltverträgliche Gestaltung von Produkten und Services erfordert quantitative und qualitative Bewertungsmaßstäbe und unterstützende Instrumente. Hierfür stehen mittlerweile eine Reihe von Checklisten, Handbüchern bis hin zu Softwarelösungen, basierend auf der methodischen Grundlage der Ökobilanzierung, zur Verfügung. Es gelingt auch zunehmend Ecodesign-Grundsätze in Produktnormen zu verankern.

Umweltzeichen

Umweltzeichen fungieren als Gütesiegel und richten sich an Verbraucher*innen. Mithilfe von Umweltzeichen werden Produkte bzw. Dienstleistungen markiert und Aussagen über die Umweltfreundlichkeit einzelner Merkmale getroffen. Mittlerweile existieren eine Vielzahl an Umweltzeichen, die sich jedoch in ihrer Aussagekraft stark unterscheiden können. Eine Auswahl zuverlässiger Siegel finden Sie hier:

Umweltzeichen

Richtlinien

Die Ökodesign-Richtlinie bildet den rechtlichen Rahmen für die Umsetzung von Ecodesign auf EU-Ebene. Für zahlreiche Produktgruppen wurden bereits Verordnungen erlassen, deren Ziel es ist ist, die Umweltwirkungen von energieverbrauchsrelevanten Produkten unter Berücksichtigung des gesamten Lebensweges zu mindern. Informationen über den aktuellen Stand finden Sie hier.

Ökodesign-Richtlinie

Ecodesign in Unternehmen

Ökologische Produktgestaltung hat sich in vielen Unternehmen häufig noch nicht als immanenter Bestandteil der Produktentwicklung durchgesetzt. Die Publikation des Umweltbundesamtes identifiziert Ansatzpunkte zur Stärkung von ökologischem Design in Unternehmen.

Publikation

Lehr- und Lernmaterialien

Das im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamtes vom Hamburger Ökopol-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Internationalen Design Zentrum Berlin entwickelte Ecodesign Kit bietet eine Sammlung verschiedener Lehr- und Lernmaterialien für Studierende.

Ecodesign Kit

Sustainability Guide

Der Sustainability Guide, der im Rahmen des internationalen Projektes EcoDesign Circle fortlaufend erweitert wird, bündelt Informationen, Methoden und Praxispeispiele zum Thema Circular Design und Circular Economy.

Webportal

Ecodesign als Kaufkriterium

In diesem Forschungsbericht wurde der Frage nachgegangen, welche Erwartungen Verbraucher*innen an nachhaltige Produkte und Services stellen und ob sie sich diese mit den wissenschaftlich fundierten Kriterien der nachhaltigen Produktgestaltung vereinbaren lassen.

Publikation

Erfolgsgeschichten

91-mal wurde der Bundespreis Ecodesign in den letzten zehn Jahren vergeben. Was ist seitdem aus den Projekten geworden? In unserer Serie #Erfolgsgeschichten berichten wir über den Werdegang verschiedener Preisträgerprojekte.

Stories