We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By using our site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy. more information

Interview

Environmental aspects of Ecodesign – Interview with Lisa Cerny from the Federal Environment Agency

Ecodesign considers design in the context of society as a whole, which requires broad expertise.
In order to qualify for the jury session of the Federal Award for Ecodesign, the entries submitted must meet both high design and environmental standards. In the first stage of the selection process, experts from various design disciplines and about 50 environmental experts from the Federal Environment Agency (UBA) will examine the quality of the entries.

The UBA, together with the Federal Ministry for the Environment (BMU), is not only the initiator of the Federal Ecodesign Award but also has a significant role in the evaluation and quality control of the submissions together with the project advisory board and the jury. In an interview, Lisa Cerny, who as a staff member of the Federal Environment Agency has supervised the project since its birth, explains the standards of good design from an environmental perspective.

Please briefly introduce yourself and your tasks at UBA and tell us what you like about it.
I am an environmental scientist and have been working for 10 years at the Federal Environment Agency on sustainable consumption and ecodesign. Our work has the goal of spreading ecological product design as a design principle. To this end, we are setting up research projects and in this context we have also launched the Federal Ecodesign Award in 2012 together with the BMU.
The work at the Federal Environment Agency is very complex. As a subordinate authority of the Federal Environment Ministry, our responsibilities include policy advice, public information and the enforcement of environmental legislation.
In my case this means in concrete terms that I supervise research projects in the field of sustainable consumption, the results of which ultimately lead to policy recommendations and consumer information.

As an environmental expert, what are the most important aspects for you to reflect on in the design process? What criteria do you value most when evaluating a submission?
First question I ask myself when evaluating each submission is whether the product contributes in any way to environmental relief. This can be done, for example, by intelligent recycling, by replacing materials that are harmful to the environment, or even by replacing a product benefit with a service. We also attach importance to ensuring that the submissions are so well designed that they also take account of consumer behaviour and ideally contribute to the sustainable use of the product.

The Federal Ecodesign Award celebrates its 10th anniversary next year. According to your observations, has there been any changes in the relevance of the topic of sustainable design?
Fortunately, the topic is becoming more and more present. In the meantime, certified products, such as textiles made of organic cotton, are no longer available only from selected retailers, but can also be found in a few discounters. In addition, we see a development in the submissions for the Federal Ecodesign Award from a pure product focus to recycling management and services. The topic of smart products is also becoming increasingly important.

Since its foundation in 1974, the Federal Environment Agency as a central scientific authority has been helping to make life in Germany more environmentally friendly. In addition to providing research and advisory support to the federal government, the UBA handle a wide range of environmental issues on a national and international level every day.

Wir verwenden Cookies, um unser Angebot nutzerfreundlich zu gestalten und kontinuierlich zu optimieren. Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu. Mehr Informationen

Expterten-Interview

Die Umweltaspekte des Ecodesigns im Fokus – Interview mit Lisa Cerny vom Umweltbundesamt

Beim Ecodesign löst sich die Designauffassung von der Objektbezogenheit. Die Einreichungen für den Bundespreis Ecodesign werden vielmehr im gesamtgesellschaftlichen Zusammenhang betrachtet, was eine breite Expertise erfordert.
Um sich für die Jurysitzung des Bundespreises Ecodesign zu qualifizieren, müssen die eingereichten Beiträge sowohl hohen Gestaltungs- also auch Umweltansprüchen gerecht werden. Dafür wird von Vertreterinnen verschiedener Designdisziplinen im Dialog mit rund 50 Umweltexpertinnen des Umweltbundesamtes (UBA) in der ersten Stufe des Auswahlverfahrens die Qualität der Einreichungen überprüft.

Das UBA ist gemeinsam mit dem Bundesumweltministerium (BMU) nicht nur Initiator des Bundespreises für Ecodesign, sondern zusammen mit dem Projektbeirat und der Jury wesentlich an der Bewertung und Qualitätsprüfung der Einreichungen beteiligt. Im Kurz-Interview erläutert Lisa Cerny, die als Mitarbeiterin des Umweltbundesamt das Projekt seit der Geburtsstunde betreut, die Maßstäbe guten Designs aus Umweltsicht.

Bitte stellen Sie sich und Ihre Aufgaben im UBA kurz vor und erzählen Sie uns, was Sie daran begeistert.
Ich bin Umweltwissenschaftlerin und arbeite seit 10 Jahren im Umweltbundesamt zu den Themen Nachhaltiger Konsum und Ecodesign. Unsere Arbeit hat zum Ziel ökologische Produktgestaltung als Gestaltungsprinzip in die Breite zu tragen. Dazu setzen wir Forschungsprojekte auf und haben in diesem Zusammenhang auch 2012 gemeinsam mit dem BMU den Bundespreis Ecodesign ins Leben gerufen.
Die Arbeit im Umweltbundesamt ist sehr vielschichtig. Als nachgeordnete Behörde des Bundesumweltministeriums gehören zu unserem Aufgabenbereichen neben der Politikberatung auch die Information der Öffentlichkeit und der Vollzug von Umweltgesetzen.
In meinem Fall bedeutet das konkret, dass ich Forschungsprojekte im Bereich Nachhaltiger Konsum betreue, deren Ergebnisse schließlich in Politikempfehlungen und Verbraucherinformationen münden.

Was sind für Sie als Umweltexpertin die wichtigsten Aspekte, die im Designprozess mitgedacht werden sollten? Auf welche Kriterien legen Sie bei der Bewertung einer Einreichung am meisten Wert?
Die erste Frage, die ich mir bei der Bewertung jeder Einreichung stelle ist, ob das Produkt in irgendeiner Weise zur Umweltentlastung beiträgt. Das kann beispielsweise über eine intelligente Kreislaufführung stattfinden, durch die Substitution von umweltschädlichen Materialien oder auch indem ein Produktnutzen durch eine Dienstleistung ersetzt wird. Außerdem legen wir Wert darauf, dass die Einreichungen so gut durchdacht sind, dass sie ebenfalls das Verbraucherverhalten berücksichtigen und im Idealfall zu einem nachhaltigen Umgang mit dem Produkt beitragen.

Der Bundespreis Ecodesign feiert im kommenden Jahr sein 10-jähriges Jubiläum. Hat sich Ihren Beobachtungen nach seit der ersten Auslobung etwas an der Relevanz des Themas nachhaltiges Design verändert?
Erfreulicher Weise wird das Thema immer präsenter. Mittlerweile gibt es zertifizierte Produkte, wie beispielsweise Textilien aus Biobaumwolle, nicht mehr nur bei ausgewählten Händlern, sondern man findet sie schon vereinzelt bei Discountern. Außerdem sehen wir bei den Einreichungen des Bundespreises Ecodesign eine Entwicklung vom reinen Produktfokus hin zu Kreislaufwirtschaft und Serviceleistungen. Aber auch das Thema Smarte Produkte kommt immer stärker.

Seit der Gründung 1974 verhilft das Umweltbundesamt als zentrale wissenschaftliche Behörde kurzgefasst das Leben in Deutschland umweltfreundlicher zu gestalten. Neben der forschenden und beratenden Unterstützung der Bundesregierung bewältigt das UBA mit den inzwischen 1.600 Mitarbeiterinnen tagtäglich ein breites Aufgabenspektrum rund um das Themengebiet Umwelt auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene.*