Nominees 2021

Nominated 2021

A fur coat and its consequences

Magdalena Keller | Hochschule Niederrhein

This master thesis investigates on a material level the recyclability of old fur coats and fur waste from invasive hunting in Germany. Fibers from unused or declared waste fur products are used to produce single-origin yarns. These are used alongside the leather won from fur products as the basis for the resource-efficient production of a durable and recyclable fashion collection.

Bohlsener Mill Store

Bohlsener Mühle GmbH & Co. KG

In addition to the presentation and sale of organic products, the sustainably designed mill store is used as a versatile experiential space, which informs about the variety of grains as well as the processing of these in the mill and bakery. This stage is intended to turn ecological sustainable courses of action into experiences.

CareTwice Shampoopulver

CareTwice UG

By adding water, the shampoo powder can be transformed into liquid shampoo. The powder is in a paper package, the shampoo itself is shaken in a reusable container. The small flat sachets and the durable reusable bottle are as material- and energy-efficient as possible, recyclable and logistics-friendly.

CIRCLE JACKET by Neumühle

Neumühle Switzerland GmbH

All components of the CIRCLE JACKET are made of mono-materials. The jacket has been designed so that it can be disassembled back into its individual parts at the end of its life. Thus, pure material flows can be guaranteed and recycling is facilitated. The materials and components are produced in a production circle of 400 km in the heart of Europe. With its takeback program, Neumühle Switzerland GmbH guarantees the return and reuse of all materials.

DB Bike+ App

Scholz & Volkmer GmbH

With this app, Deutsche Bahn wants to encourage people to use sustainable means of transport to and from the train station. The bike kilometers traveled are turned into a currency. As part of the „Zukunftsbahnhöfe“ project, Scholz & Volkmer developed a digital ecosystem, which rewards cycling. In this way, the kilometers traveled can be used as payment in local stores.

Easy care on the washing cycle

Mario Kreuzer | Hochschule Augsburg

'Easy care on the washing cycle' is designed as a guidebook on the subject of laundry care. The aim is to motivate people to take better care of their laundry and to break down gender roles in the laundry room. It aims to draw attention to the value of clothing and to raise awareness of the environmental impact of prevailing laundry habits. In addition, the guidebook aims to guide healthy and sustainable laundry care.

ECOfishing

ECOfishing UG

ECOfishing UG produces sustainable fishing weights from a self-developed, biodegradable material combination consisting of sand and natural composites. In the event of the weight breaking down, it dissolves within a few days. Depending on the water temperature, this can take between 5 and 14 days. The raw material left behind thus lands on the bottom and can rejoin the natural cycle.

Farmfluencers

Meike Hollnaicher | Freie Universität Bozen

'Farmfluencers' is a storytelling project and at the same time a community for innovative and future-oriented farmers. In graphics, photos, podcasts and network meetings, the stories of the Farmfluencers in the pilot region of South Tyrol are told and made accessible to a broad audience. The aim of the project is to establish an encouraging storytelling of agriculture and to inspire future farmers.

Innovative packaging solutions

Alpla Werke, Alwin Lehner GmbH & Co KG

Innovative packaging solutions that have less impact on the environment. This is what ALPLA WERKE offers for a wide range of products that cannot do without a container, such as cleaning agents and cosmetics. The three basic principles of the circular economy - Reuse, Reduce, Recycle - are consistently considered and sustainably implemented. This can be seen in the packaging of NOW, SUSANNE KAUFMANN™ Refills, NIVEA NATURALLY GOOD Body Lotion and the Thether Tube.

IVN-certified shoe collection

Werner Schuhe GmbH

The sustainable shoe collection from Werner Schuhe GmbH ranges from summer sandals to winter boots. The shoes are made of durable natural leather, which is a by-product of the meat production from organic cattle. It is tanned chromium-free and plant-based in Germany. Fair working conditions and animal welfare are explicitly observed. The supply chains are also transparent and short. Despite the ecological production, the shoes do not compromise on fashion value.

MateriaLab

Florian Henschel | Bauhaus-Universität Weimar

'MateriaLab' is a system of wooden experimental kits on the subject of waste and recycling. It offers children the opportunity to carry out various recycling and waste processes themselves. It is used to support conventional teaching in elementary schools and is intended to make theory tangible. The aim is to create a new awareness of the value and properties of waste and thus to encourage children to deal with it responsibly.

Nanuk Megaliner

Cargo Cycle GmbH

Cargo Cycle not only builds cargo bicycles but also offers logistics services to its customers. Three Euro pallets with a total load of 500 kg fit into the Nanuk Megaliner. The 7-meter-long vehicle is nevertheless legally considered a bicycle and is therefore allowed to use bicycle lanes. Production takes place in Hamburg and almost all components used come from Germany or Europe.

Natural softshell

Hess Natur-Textilien GmbH & Co. KG

Conventional softshell is harmful to the environment due to the use of PFC and artificial fibers are harmful to the environment. Hess-Natur created a solution for outdoor enthusiasts with the new softshell which does not contain any problematic ingredients: No PFCs are used in the process, rather, it is made of organic cotton. Thereby comfort, design as well as suitability for everyday use are given equal consideration.

NEO 3R 9,8 MM

EDELRID GmbH & Co. KG

The NEO 3R 9.8 MM is the first dynamic mountain rope made from 50% recycled rope, making it a sustainable alternative to conventional options. In order to nevertheless ensure quality and safety, the rope is made from a blend of new and recycled materials. The recycling process can be repeated as a cycle as required. It is manufactured at the company's site in Isny (Allgäu, Germany) and is bluesign certified.

Placeholder

Lasse Schlegel, David Schwarzfeld | Braunschweig University of Art

Project 'Placeholder' aims to displace advertising from public spaces. Advertising spaces are rented and places are created for people to come together, play and exchange ideas. In the long term, the project will be accompanied by a series of workshops where interested people can contribute their ideas. This will enable the democratization of the design of public spaces.

PLANETICS

PLANETICS GmbH

PLANETICS is the first online marketplace for sustainable and fair sporting goods. Due to the large selection and strict pre-selection, it is made easy for customers to find and buy truly sustainable sporting goods. In addition, a holistic structure is being developed with various universities to make the environmental and social impact of individual products even more measurable and comparable.

Pulp Fictions

Friedrich Wördehoff, Karl Schinkel | Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design Halle

'Pulp Fictions' is an exploration of 3D paper molding, also known as fiber molding. The project takes a look into an otherwise closed off mode of production in the industry. It opens it up to reshaping in form, materiality, and subsequent potential applications. The resulting material samples and paper products demonstrate a sustainable use of waste paper and fiber waste and integrate it into a recyclable design.

RePack

Original RePack Oy

RePack is a pilot project for a reusable packaging service with an included loyalty programme for e-commerce. Web stores can ship goods in RePacks that can be easily returned and reused. Consumers can return their packaging by folding it to letter size and dropping it in a mailbox for free. Once returned, the packaging is cleaned and returned to the webstores. The users are also rewarded for their participation.

Shower gel & hand soap powder

Less Waste Club UG

Commercially available liquid care products consist of over 90% water. With the waterless products from Less Waste Club, the water content is reduced to almost zero. Only by adding water during use, the powder becomes a liquid care product. By eliminating water, 90% of the transport weight is reduced. In addition, excess plastic can be avoided, thereby significantly reducing CO2 emissions along the supply chain.

Solego 2.0

SolarWorX GmbH

The startup SolarWorX aims to provide renewable energy in remote areas where fossil fuels would otherwise be burned in generators in an environmentally damaging way. Especially in rural Africa, many people and businesses are cut off from the energy grid. All parts of the modular solar system are easy to dismantle, can be replaced without difficulty and are largely made of recyclable materials.

SONNET155

Johanna Hehemeyer-Cürten, Lobke Beckfeld | weißensee academy of art berlin

This product aims to convey sustainability as a pleasure. Obtained from industrial by-products of textile and juice production, the result is a composite material that is completely biodegradable and forms the basis for SONNET. The minimalist and simple design of the bag highlights the special texture and translucency of the material, which can be sourced and produced locally. After use, it can be returned to the cycle as fertilizer.

The Franconian Denim Project

bleed clothing GmbH

The forefather of jeans, Levi Strauss, comes from Upper Franconia and with the Franconian Denim Project bleed clothing brings denim production back there. From weaving to ready-to-wear, everything in this collection is made in Germany, mostly in Franconia. The jeans are made of 98% organic cotton and 2% elastane, dyed by reactive dye without any color bleeding. The CO2 balance of the jeans was determined and compensated.

Tubedo

Tubedo GmbH

Every year, Europe produces a mountain of waste in the form of disposable tubes the size of the Empire State Building. Tubedo offers a reusable alternative - for end users as well as for the industry. It is a completely drainable, leak-proof tube. Effortless filling and ease of use make the tube convenient. Thanks to external threads
nothing gets stuck and cleaning can be done by hand or in the dishwasher.

VIOWALL glass foam cushion

viol.glass

With the help of cushions made of geotextile, which are filled with glass foam granulate, VIOWALL encloses the foundation walls of buildings and forms an impenetrable barrier. It thus offers a solution for natural drying of damp walls, cellars and basements. The cushion works exclusively with earth pressure and glass foam. It is immediately effective due to natural physical processes. Water in the walls is absorbed by the glass foam and is drained away upwards by means of evaporation.

Zero-Energy-Fachklassentrakt

Liebel/Architekten BDA

The zero-energy building is based on the primary energy balance, it generates at least as much energy locally and regeneratively as it consumes. The balance includes both building operations and energy quantities for user electricity. The house makes maximum use of the naturally available environmental energies of sun, thermal and geothermal energy and is a conscious counter-design to the ongoing mechanization in buildings.

Projects

Here you can find an overview of all nominated and winning projects since 2012. Among them are works by companies, design offices and marketing agencies, architecture or engineering firms, researchers and students from varied sectors.

Projects

Nominierte 2021

Nominierte 2021

Bohlsener Mühlenladen

Bohlsener Mühle GmbH & Co. KG

Neben der Präsentation und dem Verkauf von Bio-Produkten wird der nachhaltig konzipierte Mühlenladen als vielseitiger Erfahrungsraum genutzt, welcher über die Vielfalt von Getreide und seiner Verarbeitung in Mühle und Bäckerei informiert. Diese Bühne soll ökologisch nachhaltige Handlungsweisen erlebbar machen.

CareTwice Shampoopulver

CareTwice UG

Durch Zugabe von Wasser kann das Shampoopulver in flüssiges Shampoo verwandelt werden. Das Pulver befindet sich in einer Papierverpackung, das Shampoo selbst schüttelt man in einem wiederverwendbaren Behälter an. Die kleinen flachen Sachets und die langlebige Mehrwegflasche sind so material- und energieeffizient wie möglich, recyclingfähig und logistikfreundlich konzipiert und gestaltet.

CIRCLE JACKET by Neumühle

Neumühle Switzerland GmbH

Alle Komponenten der CIRCLE JACKET bestehen aus Mono-Materialien. Die Jacke wurde so gestaltet, dass sie am Ende der Lebensdauer wieder in ihre Einzelteile zerlegt werden kann. Somit können reine Materialflüsse garantiert werden und das Recycling wird erleichtert. Die Materialien und Komponenten werden in einem Produktionskreis von 400 km im Herzen von Europa produziert. Mit ihrem Takeback-Programm garantiert die Firma Neumühle Switzerland GmbH die Rücknahme und Wiederverwendung ​aller ​Materialien.

Das Franconian Denim Projekt

bleed clothing GmbH

Der Urvater der Jeans, Levi Strauss, stammt aus Oberfranken und mit dem Franconian Denim Projekt holt bleed clothing die Denimproduktion wieder dorthin zurück. Vom Weben bis zur Konfektion wird alles in dieser Kollektion in Deutschland gefertigt, zumeist in Franken. Die Jeans besteht zu 98% aus Biobaumwolle und zu 2% aus Elastan, gefärbt wird sie durch Reaktivfärbung ohne ein Ausbluten der Farbe. Die CO2 Bilanz der Jeans wurde ermittelt und kompensiert.

DB Rad+ App

Scholz & Volkmer GmbH

Die Deutsche Bahn möchte mit dieser App Menschen dazu anhalten, auch den Weg zum und vom Bahnhof mit nachhaltigen Verkehrsmitteln zurückzulegen. Aus den gefahrenen Rad-Kilometern wird eine Währung gemacht. Im Rahmen des Projektes „Zukunftsbahnhöfe“ hat Scholz & Volkmer ein digitales Ökosystem entwickelt, welches Fahrradfahren belohnt. So können die zurückgelegten Kilometer in lokalen Geschäften als Zahlungsmittel verwendet werden.

Duschgel- & Handseifen Pulver

Less Waste Club UG

Handelsübliche, flüssige Körperpflegeprodukte bestehen zu über 90% aus Wasser. Bei den waterless Produkten von Less Waste Club wird der Wasseranteil auf nahezu null reduziert. Erst durch die Zugabe von Wasser bei der Verwendung wird aus dem Pulver ein flüssiges Körperpflegeprodukt. Durch den Wasserverzicht wird 90% des Transportgewichtes reduziert. Außerdem wird auf überflüssiges Plastik verzichtet und dadurch der CO2-Ausstoß entlang der Wertschöpfungskette deutlich verringert.

ECOfishing

ECOfishing UG

Die ECOfishing UG produziert nachhaltige Angelgewichte aus einer selbstentwickelten, biologisch abbaubaren Werkstoffkombination, bestehend aus Sand und natürlichen Verbundstoffen. Im Falle eines Abrisses des Gewichts löst es sich binnen weniger Tage auf. Dies kann je nach Wassertemperatur zwischen 5 und 14 Tagen dauern. Der zurückbleibende Rohstoff landet somit auf dem Grund und kann sich wieder in den natürlichen Kreislauf eingliedern.

Ein Pelzmantel und seine Folgen

Magdalena Keller | Hochschule Niederrhein

Diese Masterarbeit untersucht auf materieller Ebene die Recyclingfähigkeit von alten Pelzmänteln und Fellabfällen aus invasiver Jagd in Deutschland. Fasern aus ungenutzten oder zu Abfall erklärten Pelzprodukten und Fellabfällen aus der Jagd werden zur Produktion sortenreiner Garne genutzt. Diese werden, neben dem aus den Pelzprodukten gewonnenen Leder, als Basis für die ressourceneffiziente Herstellung einer langlebigen und recyclebaren Modekollektion eingesetzt.

Farmfluencers

Meike Hollnaicher | Freie Universität Bozen

„Farmfluencers“ ist ein Storytelling-Projekt und gleichzeitig eine Community für innovative und zukunftsorientierte Landwirtinnen. In Grafiken, Fotos, Podcasts und Netzwerktreffen werden die Geschichten der Farmfluencers in der Pilotregion Südtirol erzählt und einem breiten Publikum zugänglich gemacht. Das Ziel des Projektes ist es, ein ermutigendes Storytelling in der Landwirtschaft zu etablieren und zukünftige Landwirtinnen zu inspirieren.

Innovative Verpackungslösungen

Alpla Werke, Alwin Lehner GmbH & Co KG

Innovative Verpackungslösungen, die die Umwelt weniger belasten. Das bieten die ALPLA WERKE für verschiedenste Produkte, die ohne ein Behältnis nicht auskommen, wie beispielsweise Reinigungsmittel und Kosmetika. Die drei Grundprinzipien der Kreislaufwirtschaft - Reuse, Reduce, Recycle - werden konsequent mitgedacht und nachhaltig umgesetzt. Dies zeigt sich in den Verpackungen von NOW, SUSANNE KAUFMANN™ Refills, NIVEA NATURALLY GOOD Body Lotion und der Thether Tube.

IVN-zertifizierte Schuhkollektion

Werner Schuhe GmbH

Die nachhaltige Schuhkollektion der Werner Schuhe GmbH reicht von der Sommersandale bis zum Winterboot. Die Schuhe sind aus langlebigem Naturleder gefertigt, das als Nebenprodukt der Fleischproduktion von Biorindern verbleibt. Es wird chromfrei und pflanzlich in Deutschland gegerbt. Faire Arbeitsbedingungen und Tierwohl werden ausdrücklich beachtet. Auch die Lieferketten sind transparent und kurz. Trotz der ökologischen Produktion sind die Schuhe kein Modekompromiss.

MateriaLab

Florian Henschel | Bauhaus-Universität Weimar

'MateriaLab' ist ein System von Experimentierkästen aus Holz zum Thema Abfall und Recycling. Es bietet Kindern die Möglichkeit, verschiedene Recycling- und Abfallprozesse selbst durchzuführen. Es wird unterstützend zum konventionellen Unterricht in der Grundschule eingesetzt und soll Theorie erfahrbar machen. So kann ein neues Bewusstsein für den Wert und die Eigenschaften von Abfall erzeugt und zu einem verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit diesem herangeführt werden.

Nanuk Megaliner

Cargo Cycle GmbH

Die Firma Cargo Cycle baut nicht nur Lastenfahrräder sondern bietet ihren Kunden auch Logistik an. In den Nanuk Megaliner passen drei Europaletten mit einer Gesamtzuladung von 500 kg. Das 7 Meter lange Gefährt gilt dennoch rechtlich als Fahrrad und darf somit Fahrradwege nutzen. Die Herstellung findet in Hamburg statt und fast alle verbauten Komponenten stammen aus Deutschland oder Europa.

Natürliches Softshell

Hess Natur-Textilien GmbH & Co. KG

Konventionelles Softshell ist aufgrund des Einsatzes von PFC und künstlichen Fasern schädlich für die Umwelt. Hess-Natur hat mit dem neuen Softshell eine Lösung für Outdoor-Liebhaber*innen geschaffen, die ohne problematische Inhaltsstoffe auskommt: Es werden dabei keine PFCs eingesetzt, vielmehr besteht es aus Bio-Baumwolle. Dabei werden Tragekomfort, Design sowie Alltagstauglichkeit gleichwertig berücksichtigt.

NEO 3R 9,8 MM

EDELRID GmbH & Co. KG

Das NEO 3R 9,8 MM ist das erste dynamische Bergseil, das zu 50% aus recycelten Seilen hergestellt wird und so eine nachhaltige Alternative zum herkömmlichen Bergseil bietet. Um dennoch qualitativ und sicherheitstechnisch keine Eingeständnisse zu machen, besteht das Seil aus einer Mischung aus Neu- und Recyclingmaterialien. Der Recycling-Prozess lässt sich als Kreislauf beliebig wiederholen. Es wird am Firmenstandort in Isny (Allgäu) gefertigt und ist bluesign zertifiziert.

Null-Energie-Fachklassentrakt

Liebel/Architekten BDA

Der Fachklassentrakt ist ein Null-Energie-Gebäude, das auf Basis der Primärenergiebilanz über das Jahr mindestens so viel Energie lokal und regenerativ erzeugt, wie es verbraucht. Die Bilanz umfasst sowohl den Gebäudebetrieb als auch die Energiemengen für den Nutzerstrom. Das Haus nutzt die natürlich vorhandenen Umweltenergien Sonne, Thermik und Erdwärme maximal aus und ist ein bewusster Gegenentwurf zur anhaltenden Technisierung bei Gebäuden.

Pflegeleicht im Kochwaschgang

Mario Kreuzer | Hochschule Augsburg

'Pflegeleicht im Kochwaschgang' gestaltet sich als Ratgeber zum Thema Wäschepflege. Das Ziel ist es, zu besserer Wäschepflege zu motivieren und Genderrollen in der Waschküche aufzulösen. Es soll auf die Wertschätzung von Kleidung aufmerksam gemacht und über die Umweltauswirkungen vorherrschender Waschgewohnheiten aufgeklärt werden. Darüber hinaus will der Ratgeber zu einer gesunden und nachhaltigen Wäschepflege anleiten.

PLANETICS

PLANETICS GmbH

PLANETICS ist der erste Online-Marktplatz für nachhaltige und faire Sportartikel. Aufgrund der großen Auswahl und strikten Vorselektierung wird es für Kund*innen einfach gemacht, wirklich nachhaltige Sportartikel zu finden und zu kaufen. Zusätzlich wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Hochschulen eine ganzheitliche Struktur erarbeitetet, um die ökologischen und sozialen Auswirkungen der einzelnen Produkte noch messbarer und vergleichbarer zu machen.

Platzhalter

Lasse Schlegel, David Schwarzfeld | Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig

Mit dem Projekt „Platzhalter“ soll Werbung aus öffentlichen Räumen verdrängt werden. Es werden Werbeflächen gemietet und um sie herum Orte geschaffen, an denen Menschen zusammenkommen, spielen und sich austauschen können. Langfristig wird das Projekt mit einer Reihe von Workshops, in denen Interessierte ihre Ideen einbringen können, begleitet. Dies ermöglicht die Demokratisierung der Gestaltung von öffentlichen Räumen.

Pulp Fictions

Friedrich Wördehoff, Karl Schinkel | Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule Halle

'Pulp Fictions' ist eine Auseinandersetzung mit dem 3D Paper Moulding, auch Faserguss genannt. Das Projekt wirft einen Blick in eine sonst abgeschlossene Produktionsweise der Industrie. Es öffnet sie zum Umgestalten in Form, Materialität und daraus folgenden möglichen Anwendungen. Die so entstandenen Materialproben und Papierprodukte zeigen eine nachhaltige Nutzung von Altpapier und Faserabfällen auf und integrieren diese in ein
kreislauffähiges Design.

RePack

Original RePack Oy

RePack ist ein Pilotprojekt für einen Mehrweg-Verpackungsservice mit inkludiertem Treueprogramm für den E-Commerce. Webshops können Waren in RePacks verschicken, die einfach zurückgegeben und wiederverwendet werden können. Verbraucherinnen können ihre Verpackungen zurückgeben, indem sie diese auf Briefgröße falten und kostenlos in einen Briefkasten einwerfen. Nach der Rückgabe wird die Verpackung gereinigt und wieder an die Webstores zurückgegeben. Die Nutzerinnen werden zudem für ihre Teilnahme belohnt.

Solego 2.0

SolarWorX GmbH

Das Startup SolarWorX hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, erneuerbare Energien in entlegenen Gegenden anzubieten, wo sonst fossile Brennstoffe in Generatoren umweltschädlich verbrannt werden. Insbesondere im ländlichen Afrika sind viele Personen und Unternehmen vom Energienetz abgeschnitten. Alle Teile des modularen Solarsystems sind leicht demontierbar, können problemlos ausgetauscht werden und bestehen größtenteils aus recycelbaren Materialien.

SONNET155

Johanna Hehemeyer-Cürten, Lobke Beckfeld | weißensee kunsthochschule berlin

Dieses Produkt will Nachhaltigkeit als Genuss vermitteln. Gewonnen aus industriellen Beiprodukten der Textil- und Saftproduktion ergibt sich ein Kompositmaterial, welches vollständig biologisch abbaubar ist und die Basis für SONNET bildet. Das minimalistische und simple Design der Tasche hebt die besondere Textur und Transluzenz des Materials hervor, welches lokal bezogen und produziert werden kann. Nach Gebrauch kann es als Düngemittel zurück in den Kreislauf geführt werden.

Tubedo

Tubedo GmbH

Jährlich wird in Europa ein Müllberg an Einwegtuben vom Volumen des Empire State Buildings produziert.
Tubedo bietet dazu eine wiederverwendbare Alternative – für Endverbraucher*innen wie auch für die Industrie. Es ist eine restlos entleerbare, dichte Tube. Müheloses Befüllen und der einfache Gebrauch machen die Tube komfortabel. Dank Außengewinden bleibt nichts hängen und die Reinigung gelingt von Hand oder in der Spülmaschine.

VIOWALL Glasschaumkissen

viol.glass

Mit Hilfe von Kissen aus Geotextil, die mit Glasschaumgranulat gefüllt werden, umschließt VIOWALL die Grundmauern von Gebäuden und bildet eine undurchdringbare Barriere. Es bietet so eine Lösung für die natürliche Trocknung feuchter Wände und Keller. Das Kissen arbeitet ausschließlich mit Erddruck und Glasschaum und ist aufgrund natürlicher physikalischer Vorgänge sofort wirksam. Wasser in den Wänden wird vom Glasschaum absorbiert und mittels Evaporation nach oben abgeleitet.

Projekte

Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht aller nominierten und prämierten Projekte seit 2012. Darunter sind Arbeiten von Unternehmen, Designbüros und Marketingagenturen, Architektur- oder Ingenieurbüros, Forschenden und Studierenden aus unterschiedlichen Branchen.

Projekte