Methods and work aids


There are numerous methods for determining the environmental impacts of materials, substances or products. One of the best known is the Life Cycle Assessment (LCA). This comprehensive technique analyses environmental impacts throughout the life cycle of the product and the associated consumption of materials and energy, as well as subsequent environmental impacts. It can be used in conjunction with other more specific methods, e.g. the CO2 footprint of products and buildings (Product Carbon Footprint, PCF or Corporate Carbon Footprint, CCF) or the water footprint.

There are numerous other work aids, from simple tools such as Ecolizer 2.0, developed by the Public Waste Agency of Flanders, and the SIS Toolkit, both of which are suitable for designers. Databases and technical regulations are also commonly employed, as well as complex calculation and visualisation tools such as Ecoinvent and Umberto.

Another useful tool in the development of products is the Ecodesign Pilot, a software tool developed at the TU Vienna that supports product developers and constructors by proposing suitable strategies and specific measures for an eco-relevant improvement of the product. This tool can already be used during the planning phase. It has been modified and enhanced for company-specific scopes of application and a separate version of the tool has been was developed for the textile industry.

The Ecodesign Kit, developed by the Institute for Environmental Strategy Hamburg together with the International Design Center Berlin and on behalf of the UBA, offers a collection of various learning and teaching materials for students.

The eBook “Was ist Ecodesign” offers a good overview on ecodesign methods and tools and can be downloaded via the following link: umweltbundesamt.de


Life Cycle Assessment


Although originally developed primarily for the assessment of products, LCAs can also be conducted for services and processes. The principles and rules for the implementation of LCAs have been laid down internationally in ISO standards 14040:2006 and 14044:2006 and transferred to the German standards (DIN EN ISO 14040, DIN EN ISO 14044). Accordingly, an LCA comprises four elements:

  • Definition of goal and investigative scope
  • Life cycle inventory analysis
  • Impact assessment
  • Assessment


A common and significant problem in the implementation of LCA projects is the extremely limited availability of suitable data. Environmental data on products and processes are frequently not publicly available or are only accessible following painstaking research. To this end, the German Federal Environment Agency offers a range of publicly available data sets from various resources that can be used in LCAs. These can be accessed via the Internet portal ProBas (process-oriented basic data for environmental management instruments).

Product Carbon Footprint


In recent years, various initiatives for the determination of the CO2 balance of products have aimed efforts towards a more comprehensive measurement of the CO2 Product Carbon Footprint. Unfortunately, no uniform and accepted methodology exists to date. An internationally binding ISO standard (ISO 14067) for Product Carbon Footprint and an internationally harmonised guideline are under preparation.

In 2009, the German Environment Ministry (BMUB) and the German Federal Environment Agency (UBA) commissioned the Institute for Applied Biology (Öko-Institut) to develop proposals for a methodology for the determination and representation of Product Carbon Footprint. The results are laid out in the Memorandum on Product Carbon Footprint, which is being incorporated into international standardisation processes.

Water Footprint


To determine the water footprint, actual water consumed on-site is added to the so-called ‘virtual water’ that is initially required for the production of the locally used or consumed foodstuffs and goods.According to calculations from the Dutch non-profit organisation Water Footprint Network, water consumption in Germany is 1,545,000 litres per person per year, or 4,230 litres per day. In a similar study on the water footprint, the WWF calculated as high as 5,288 litres per person per day – the equivalent of around 27 filled bathtubs.

This astonishingly high level can be traced back primarily to our current standard of living, in particular meat consumption and the intensive use of industrial products. Each manufactured car, for example, requires an average of 400,000 litres of virtual water; each computer 20,000 litres.

A binding international ISO standard for water footprint (ISO 14046) is currently being drafted.






Presented and supported by


BMU
UBA

Developed and implemented by


IDZ

With assistance from


Advisory Board
Media partners


Please direct queries to


info@bundespreis-ecodesign.de

Methoden und Arbeitshilfen


Um die Umweltauswirkungen von Materialien, Werkstoffen oder Produkten zu bestimmen, gibt es unterschiedliche Methoden. Eine der bekanntesten ist die Ökobilanzierung bzw. die Erstellung von Lebenszyklusananlysen (Life Cycle Assessment, LCA). Neben dieser umfassenden Methode, bei der die ökologischen Auswirkungen während des gesamten Produktlebenswegs analysiert und die auftretenden Stoff- und Energieumsätze sowie die daraus resultierenden Umweltbelastungen bewertet werden, gibt es weitere Methoden, die einen bestimmten Aspekt hervorheben, z. B. kann der CO2-Fußabdruck von Produkten und Betriebsstätten (Product Carbon Footprint, PCF bzw. Corporate Carbon Footprint, CCF) bestimmt werden oder der Wasser-Fußabdruck (Water Footprint).

Bei der Anwendung dieser Methoden kommen verschiedene Arbeitshilfen zum Einsatz, von einfachen Werkzeugen wie dem von der flämischen Abfallbehörde entwickelten Ecolizer 2.0 und dem SIS Toolkit, die auch für Designerinnen und Designer geeignet sind, über Datenbanken und technische Regelwerke bis hin zu komplexen Berechnungs- und Visualisierung-Tools, wie z. B. Ecoinvent und Umberto.

Hilfreich bei der Produktentwicklung ist auch der an der TU Wien entwickelte Ecodesign Pilot, ein Softwaretool, welches Produktentwickler und Konstrukteure unterstützt, indem geeignete Strategien und konkrete Maßnahmen zur umweltrelevanten Verbesserung von Produkten vorschlagen werden. Das Werkzeug kann bereits in der Planungsphase eingesetzt werden. Es wurde für firmenspezifische Anwendungsgebiete immer wieder angepasst und erweitert, für die Textilbranche wurde eine eigene Version entwickelt.

Das im Auftrag des UBA vom Hamburger Ökopol-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Internationalen Design Zentrum Berlin entwickelte Ecodesign Kit bietet eine Sammlung verschiedener Lehr- und Lernmaterialien für Studierende.

Einen guten Überblick über Ecodesign-Methoden und Werkzeuge bietet auch das eBook „Was ist Ecodesign?“ Unter folgendem Link auch zum Download: http://www.umweltbundesamt.de/publikationen/was-ist-ecodesign

Ökobilanz


Ursprünglich vor allem zur Bewertung von Produkten entwickelt, kann eine Ökobilanz heute auch für Dienstleistungen oder Verfahren erstellt werden. Grundsätze und Regeln zur Durchführung von Ökobilanzen wurden in den ISO-Standards 14040:2006 und 14044:2006 international festgelegt und in das deutsche Normenwerk übertragen (DIN EN ISO 14040, DIN EN ISO 14044). Danach umfasst eine Ökobilanz vier Elemente:

  • Definition von Ziel und Untersuchungsrahmen
  • Sachbilanz
  • Wirkungsabschätzung
  • Auswertung


Ein wesentliches Problem bei der Durchführung von Ökobilanz-Projekten stellt die oftmals sehr eingeschränkte Verfügbarkeit geeigneter Daten dar. Umweltbezogene Daten zu Produkten und Prozessen sind häufig nicht öffentlich oder nur durch mühevolle Recherche zugänglich. Hier bietet das Umweltbundesamt über das Internet-Portal ProBas (Prozessbezogene Basisdaten für Umweltmanagement-Instrumente) eine Vielzahl von öffentlich verfügbaren Datensätzen aus unterschiedlichen Quellen an, die für die Erstellung von Ökobilanzen genutzt werden können.

Product Carbon Footprint


In den letzten Jahren wurden verschiedene Initiativen zur Ermittlung der CO2-Bilanz von Produkten ergriffen, um deren konkreten CO2-Fußabdruck, den Product Carbon Footprint, abzubilden. Leider gibt es jedoch hierfür bisher keine einheitliche und akzeptierte Methodik. Ein international verbindlicher ISO-Standard (ISO 14067) zum Product Carbon Footprint und eine international harmonisierte Richtlinie sind derzeit in Arbeit.

2009 haben BMUB und UBA das Öko-Institut beauftragt, Vorschläge für eine Methodik zur Ermittlung und Darstellung des Product Carbon Footprint zu entwickeln. Die Ergebnisse sind in dem Memorandum zum Product Carbon Footprint festgehalten. Das Memorandum wird in die internationalen Prozesse zur Standardisierung des Product Carbon Footprint eingespeist.

Water Footprint


Um den Wasser-Fußabdruck zu ermitteln, wird zum tatsächlichen vor Ort verbrauchten Wasser auch das sogenannte virtuelle Wasser hinzugerechnet, also das Wasser, das benötigt wird, um Lebensmittel oder Waren, die vor Ort verbraucht bzw. genutzt werden, herzustellen. Nach den Berechnungen der niederländischen Non-Profit-Organisation Water Footprint Network liegt der so ermittelte Wasserverbrauch in Deutschland bei 1.545.000 Litern pro Person und Jahr oder 4.230 Litern pro Tag. Die Umweltstiftung WWF kommt in einer ähnlichen Studie zum Wasser-Fußabdruck sogar auf 5.288 Liter pro Person und Tag – das entspricht etwa 27 gefüllten Badewannen.

Verantwortlich für diesen hohen Verbrauch ist vor allem unser Lebensstandard, insbesondere der Fleischkonsum und die intensive Nutzung von Industrieprodukten. So fallen beispielsweise bei der Herstellung eines Autos durchschnittlich 400.000 Liter virtuelles Wasser an, für einen Computer 20.000 Liter.

Ein international verbindlicher ISO-Standard zum Water Footprint (ISO 14046) befindet sich in der Entwurfsphase.

Gefördert von


BMU
UBA

entwickelt und durchgeführt von


IDZ

Mit Unterstützung von


Beirat
Medienpartner

Bei Fragen


info@bundespreis-ecodesign.de


Wichtige Informationen zum Download finden Sie im


Downloadbereich